Florida wins EA “Bud” Gingher Trophy as Eastern Conference champions

The Florida Everblades claimed the EA “Bud” Gingher Trophy as Eastern Conference champions Tuesday with a 3-2 double overtime win over the Newfoundland Growlers in Game 6 of the Eastern Conference Finals.

Florida wins the series 4 games to 2 and advances to face the Idaho Steelheads in the 2023 Kelly Cup Finals. Idaho defeated Toledo 4 games to 1 in the Western Conference Finals to claim the Bruce Taylor Trophy.

Schedule announced for the 2023 Kelly Cup Finals

With the score tied after regulation, both goaltenders, Florida’s Cam Johnson and Newfoundland’s Luke Cavallin, made big saves in the first overtime period, as the Everblades outscored the Growlers 10-5. For the second time in the series, the Everblades’ John McCarron scored the game-winning goal in second overtime, out-shooting Cavallin 8:59 into double overtime.

Blake Winiecki led Florida in the series with four goals and shared the team lead with six points with Oliver Chau (2g-4a) and John McCarron (2g-4a). Pavel Gogolev’s three goals set the pace for Newfoundland, while Zach Solow (2g-3a) and Tyler Boland (1g-4a) shared the team lead with five points each.

The Everblades, who won Kelly Cup titles in 2012 and 2022, advance to the Kelly Cup Finals for the sixth time in team history (2004, 2005, 2012, 2018, 2022 and 2023), which is tied with Carolina South in the most finals. appearances in the history of the League. Florida is seeking to become the fifth team in ECHL history to win back-to-back titles (Hampton Roads, 1991 and 1992; Toledo, 1993 and 1994; Allen, 2015 and 2016; Colorado, 2017 and 2018).

The trophy is named in recognition of EA “Bud” Gingher, who was Chairman of the ECHL Board of Governors from 1992 to 1995. Gingher, who died in 2002, co-founded the Dayton Bombers in 1991 and owned the team for seven seasons. , serving as president and governor until he sold the team in 1998. Gingher was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2010.

EA “Bud” Gingher Trophy Champions
Florida Everblades 2023
Florida Everblades 2022
2021 South Carolina Stripes
2020 Trophy not delivered due to COVID-19
Newfoundland Growlers 2019
Florida Everblades 2018
2017 South Carolina Stripes
Wheeled Nailers 2016
2015 South Carolina Stripes
2014 Cincinnati Cyclones
2013 Reading Actuals
Florida Everblades 2012
Wings of Kalamazoo 2011
Cincinnati Cyclones 2010
2009 South Carolina stripes
Cincinnati Cyclones 2008
2007 Dayton Bombers
2006 Gwinnett Gladiators
2005 Florida Everblades
2004 Florida Everblades
2003 Atlantic City Boardwalk thugs
2002 Dayton Bombers
2001 Trenton Titans
2000 Peoria Rivermen
1999 Richmond Renegades
1998 Hampton Roads Admirals

About the ECHL

Formed in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and two Canadian provinces by its 35th season in 2022-23. There have been 740 players who played in the National Hockey League after playing in the ECHL, including 13 who made their NHL debut in the 2022-23 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 28 of the 32 NHL teams in 2022-23, marking the 26th consecutive season the league has affiliations with at least 20 NHL teams. More information about ECHL is available on its website at, as well as at Twitter and Facebook.