Preview, full schedule and how to watch live

Starting Tuesday, May 30, the 2023 Women’s Championship Volleyball The League of Nations (VNL) will have the top 16 nations of four confederations in the fourth edition of the prestigious international indoor tournament organized by the FIVB, the governing body of the sport.

reigning champions Italy claimed their first title in 2022 with a resounding 3-0 win over Brazil in the final after the USA he had won the first three editions of the event (2018, 2019, 2021).

Antalya (Türkiye), Nagoya (Japan), Hong Kong (China), Brasilia (Brazil), Suwon (South Korea) and Bangkok (Thailand) will host the preliminary round games until July 2.

He final round of the Women’s VNL 2023 is scheduled for Arlington, Texas (United States) from July 12 to 16.

Read on to learn more about the competition format, schedule, teams, and featured players to watch.

Volleyball Nations League (VNL) 2023: Format

The preliminary round of the VNL 2023 women’s competition is divided into three weekly phases.

The 16 teams are divided into two groups, and each week the teams are reorganized into the groups.

At the end of the three weeks, the top eight teams in the standings will advance to the final round.

The draw for the knockout stages will be determined by the ranking of the teams after the completion of the preliminary round.

Women’s Volleyball Nations League (VNL) 2023 – Teams and Rosters


  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • People’s Republic of China
  • Croatia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Serbian
  • Republic of Korea
  • thailand
  • Türkiye
  • USA

You can find the updated lists here.

History of the Women’s Volleyball Nations League (VNL)

The Volleyball Nations League (VNL) was introduced by the FIVB in October 2017, with the inaugural edition held in 2018.

The VNL replaced the old World Grand Prixthat existed since 1993.

Here’s a rundown of medals from the women’s competition:

  • United States: 3 golds
  • Italy: 1 gold
  • Brazil: 3 silvers
  • Türkiye: 1 silver, 1 bronze
  • China: 2 bronzes
  • Serbia: 1 bronze

Women’s Volleyball Nations League (VNL) 2023: Schedule

preliminary round

  • May 30 – June 4 (Week 1):

Group 1 in Antalya, Türkiye (Canada, Italy, Poland, South Korea, Serbia, Thailand, Türkiye, United States)

Group 2 in Nagoya Japan (Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Germany, Japan, Netherlands)

Group 3 in Hong Kong, China (Bulgaria, China, Canada, Dominican Republic, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Türkiye)

Group 4 in Brasilia, Brazil (Brazil, Croatia, Germany, Japan, South Korea, Serbia, Thailand, United States)

  • June 27 – July 2 (week 3):

Group 5 in Suwon, Republic of Korea (Bulgaria, China, Dominican Republic, Germany, Poland, Serbia, South Korea, United States)

Group 6 in Bangkok, Thailand (Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Thailand, Türkiye)

final round

Finals in Arlington, Texas, United States

  • July 12-13 Quarterfinals
  • July 15 Semifinals
  • July 16 End

The detailed day-to-day program can be found here.

How to watch the Women’s Volleyball Nations League (VNL) 2023

All 2023 Women’s VNL matches will be broadcast live on VBTV.